---
title: "Managing Users and Licenses"
canonical: "https://documentation.chaos.com/space/LIC5/124657185/Managing%20Users%20and%20Licenses"
format: markdown
---
This page explains the user management actions accessible from the My Chaos portal available to administrators in an organization. Overview As an Administrator in your Organization, you can use My Chaos portal to: Invite users Enable Floating Licenses Pool Remove users User search Product license assignment User view Product license revoke Offline license revoke Licenses on Centralized license server This page explains how these actions are done for individual users. For bulk actions, see  Bulk User Management . Adding Users to the Organization The Administrator can start adding users to their organization by selecting the ellipsis menu on the  Users  tile and clicking  Invite users . Select  Individual . Enter the user's email address. Select  Send Invite . For bulk invites, see  Bulk User Management . Once the invitation is sent, the user receives an email notifying them that they have been added to an Organization. If they have a Chaos account associated with this email, no further action is needed. Otherwise, they can follow the  Complete account  button. Then the user is redirected to sign in with their credentials to  my.chaos.com . Regardless if they have an account or not, the user immediately becomes a part of the Organization, but they can only use the licenses shared with them once they create a Chaos account. Example message After signing in, users can use any shared licenses within the Organization Removing Users from the Organization To remove a user, the Administrator must first revoke any licenses assigned to them. However, Cloud credit pool/quota access, will not prevent user removal. Select the ellipsis next to the user you want to remove and click  Remove user . User Search Administrators can select the number of users to be displayed per page by selecting it from the drop down menu at the bottom of the page. Administrators can use the search bar to find a specific user by typing their email address, user name, or role. They can also search the users by the products they have assigned to them or filter by the Chaos cloud credit quota enabled. Assigning a License to a User Once users have been added to your organization, the Administrator can allocate product licenses to them. Click on the ellipsis next to the username of the user. Select  Allocate product to user . New screen opens.  The Admin can choose the product they want to allocate, as well as the number of product licenses they want to assign to the selected user. The expiration date is pre-filled, but you have to select it to be able to assign the license. If all organizational products are assigned to different users, the Admin will have to choose  From  which user to re-allocate a product license. Each time a product is assigned to a user, the user will receive a notification email. Product licenses expiration date:   If there are multiple purchases made over time for a specific product, e.g., V-Ray Collection -Annual, the Admin can use the  Expiration date  of different subscriptions to determine which product license they want to assign to a specific use. User View Since Users retain the right to make personal purchases, they have a different view in  my.chaos.com . They see any personal products under the  Active Products  tab with the ability to renew and/or upgrade them. Their personal licenses are visible under  Licenses  in the  Licensing  tab alongside any licenses assigned by the organization. Revoking an Assigned License from a User In order to revoke a product license, the Administrator must first determine which user they want to remove a license from. Then, select the product to be revoked. Select the product to be revoked from a certain user. Click on the product and select  Revoke product . A pop-up dialog will prompt you to revoke the product.  If two or more identical Products have been assigned to a user, e.g., two V-Ray for 3ds Max - Annual, these can only be revoked altogether by the Admin instead of one at a time. Each time a product is revoked from a user, the user will receive a notification email. Revoking an Offline License At the moment, Product licenses can be revoked only when the user uses them in an online mode. If, however, the user has borrowed a license for offline use, it can’t be revoked. When the Administrator attempts to do it, they will see the following message:  "The source user  example@user.com  has borrowed licenses for offline use. To realocate them, the borrowing period should first expire or the user should release them for offline use.:invalid arguments or operation". In this instance, contact Chaos for assistance.