---
title: "Preferences"
canonical: "https://documentation.chaos.com/space/VBLD/117638197/Preferences"
format: markdown
---
This page provides information on the V-Ray Add-On window in the Preferences menu. UI Path This window is located in  Edit  >  Preferences  >  Add-ons  >  V-Ray for Blender . If you have not enabled V-Ray yet, it will not appear in the list if  Enabled Only  is turned on. Loading Previous Preferences This is a disclaimer in case you have installed a new version of Blender, and you wish to import the preferences from your previous Blender instance, which had V-Ray installed. After importing preferences from an older version of Blender that had V-Ray installed, the V-Ray add-on must be removed manually before a new install of V-Ray is attempted. After importing the preferences, go to  Edit  >  Preferences …  >  Add-ons.  Find the  V-Ray for Blender  section and expand it. Click on the  Uninstall  button on the right. Confirm when prompted. After the uninstall finishes successfully, close Blender. Install  the new version of V-Ray for Blender as usual. V-Ray for Blender Uninstall  – Deletes the files associated with the V-Ray plugin. Website  – Redirects to this documentation. Feedback  – Redirects to the support site, allowing you to  submit a request . General This window contains useful information about the V-Ray version in use, where V-Ray was installed, and more. Open  – Opens the  Chaos licensing window . Use Community Edition  – Switches between Commercial and Community license. V-Ray needs to be restarted for the changes to be applied. Usage statistics Choose if you would like  Anonymized  or  Personalized  telemetry. No intellectual property is violated when agreeing to participate in the feedback program. Click the  Learn more  button to be redirected to the  Chaos Telemetry  page. Additional Settings Ask for confirmation when upgrading scenes  – This option toggles whether V-Ray asks for permission when converting older scenes to the latest V-Ray version. By default, this option is enabled, and the  V-Ray Scene Update  window appears each time you open an older V-Ray scene. If this option is disabled, V-Ray will automatically convert older V-Ray scenes, without asking.  Use roughness for new materials by default  – When enabled, materials created have roughness enabled by default. Automatic Check for Updates  – When enabled, V-Ray automatically checks for updates.   Logging This window allows you to determine the logging level in the Blender Console, regarding the V-Ray processes. You can decide to log  No information ,  Errors only ,  Warnings ,  Info  ( which includes errors, warnings, and informational messages).  If you enable the  Log Qt output  option, in the Blender Console, you will also receive information from the interfaces of the VFB, Chaos Cosmos and Chaos Licensing windows. We recommend keeping this option off.  Device Selection This window allows you to choose the GPU device when the Render Engine is set to V-Ray GPU in the  Render Settings . The CUDA engine utilizes both the CPU and GPU(s); you can select the utilized devices from here.  Device selection on a Windows machine Device selection on a macOS machine Distributed Rendering Distributed Rendering is unavailable in the  V-Ray for Blender   Community Edition . This window allows you to set up the Render Servers and Render Dispatcher for distributed rendering (DR2).  For information on the steps, see the  Distributed Rendering  page .  Don’t Use Local Machine  – When enabled, the Local Machine (Render Client) is excluded from the rendering. This allows the Render Client to be used while the render takes place. We recommend enabling this checkbox.  Use Remote Dispatcher  – When enabled, the distribution of render regions to the Render Servers is assigned to a Remote Dispatcher machine. Otherwise, this task is performed by the Render Client. If you have a separate machine in mind, enter its Render Node IP or Hostname in the  Remote Dispatcher  field. Leave the port number at its default value of 20209. Render Servers List Use the Render Servers list to add and remove Render Servers. You can also save the current list or load the one most recently saved. Button Function Add a Render Server to the list. You can then add a custom name to the Server. Add an IP address or Hostname to identify the Render Server in the network.  Remove a Render Server from the list. Load the most recently-saved Render Server list.  Save the current Render Server list.